A newer version of the platform is available. Please refresh the page.
Zur Institute is approved to provide Continuing Education by the California board of Register Nursing (BRN). Below is a list of states and the status of whether they will accept BRN approved courses. The wording in a number of state requirements is vague and at times difficult to interpret. The list below is updated according to our best understanding. If in doubt, please contact your state’s board of nursing.
State by State Approval
Hawaii, Vermont, and Ohio DO NOT accept BRN approved courses.
Alabama: Approved. (“Continuing education approved by any state board of nursing in the United States or its territories.”)
Alaska: Approved
Arizona: Does not require CE for recertification
Arkansas: Continuing Education Approval Body: A recognized authorizing body, approval or provider, responsible for offering quality continuing nursing education. This definition includes those non-nursing organizations whose continuing education offerings are relevant to nursing practice roles.
Courses approved by appropriate state, regional and national health professional associations as well as other professional health and licensing boards in and out of California can be acceptable, so long as the content meets the Board’s requirements as specified in Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Section 1456. These courses must be developed for continuing education purposes.
Colorado: As a nurse in the state of Colorado, you do not have a continuing education requirement to renew your active license. For your professional development needs, please explore the resources below.
Visit the Colorado Board of Nursing for more information on your renewal requirements.
References:
Connecticut: Qualifying continuing education activities include, but are not limited to, in-person and online courses offered or approved by the American Nurses Association, Connecticut Hospital Association,Connecticut Nurses Association, The Connecticut Center for Nursing Workforce (CCNW), a specialty nursing society or an equivalent organization in another jurisdiction, an educational offering sponsored by a hospital or other health care institution or a course offered by a regionally accredited academic institution or a state or local health department.
Delaware: Appears to accept, but not entirely clear.
An organization approved as a provider by a Board of Nursing of another U.S. jurisdiction or territory and which is a member of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing
A nationally accredited provider of nursing related continuing education; or
An organization or agency that is approved as a provider or has programs that are approved by a nationally accredited approver of nursing related continuing education; or
A Board of Nursing approved school of nursing; or
A staff development department within a licensed or State health care agency; or an accredited educational institution; or
An entity approved by the Delaware Board of Nursing, pursuant to subsections 9.4 and 9.5, if not meeting any other criteria.
District of Columbia: Undetermined
Florida: Approved. Continuing education (CE) courses approved by a state or national nursing organization empowered to accredit CE standards can be used, pursuant to Rule 64B9-5.004, F.A.C., unless the offering falls into the mandatory CE category. All mandatory courses must be offered by a Florida Board of Nursing approved provider.
Georgia: Any provider recognized by another state board of nursing within the United States.
Hawaii: DOES NOT ACCEPT
Idaho: Does not specify approving body
Continuing Education Requirements for renewing an APRN license include completing 30 contact hours of continuing education during the renewal period, which shall include 10 contact hours in pharmacology if the nurse has prescriptive authority. Contact hours will be prorated for APRNs whose initial license was issued midway into a renewal period (e.g. a new graduate whose initial license is valid for 1 year is required to attest to 15.0 contact hours of continuing education and 5.0 contact hours in pharmacology-related content).
Illinois: Accepts BRN approved providers based on the following. CE hours used to satisfy the CE requirements of another jurisdiction may be
applied to fulfill the CE requirements of the State of IL for RN re-licensure pursuant to
the provisions set forth in subsection (c ).
Providers approved by another state’s board of nursing
Continuing Education (CE) Requirements
1) As required by the Act, all nurses shall complete continuing education as follows:
A) Beginning with the August 31, 2012 renewal, all registered professional nurses
shall complete 20 hours of approved continuing education per 2-year license renewal
cycle.
Indiana: Not determined
Iowa: Other approved providers from state boards of nursing that have mandatory continuing education
Kansas: The Kansas State Board of Nursing will accept CNE hours from: Any provider approved by other State Boards of Nursing
Kentucky: Completed through a CE Provider approved to offer nursing CE by the KBN; or another state board of nursing
Louisiana: Approved. Nursing practice hours completed in another state count towards LSBN’s CE/nursing practice requirements. Practice hours are not required to have been completed in Louisiana. There is additional important information in the CE brochure available at here.
Maine: No CE requirement for RN
In Maine, the continuing education (CE) requirements for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs) are as follows:
If an APRN holds multiple specialties, the 50 CEUs can apply to both as long as the content is relevant to all areas of practice. However, staff in-service training that is basic (e.g., CPR) does not fulfill this requirement.
Maryland: Does not appear to accept BRN
Massachusetts: Up to nurse to decide if it qualifies based on the criteria in this document
BRN seems to be in line with this criteria
Michigan: Approved. Accepts BRN: Another state or provincial board of nursing
Minnesota: Up to nurse to decide: Continuing education requirements may be fulfilled in one of three ways:
It is the licensee’s responsibility to determine whether a current nursing certificate, a continuing education activity, or a professional activity meets the continuing education requirements.
Mississippi: Does not specify: RNs will be required to comply with Continuing Education requirements for the renewal, endorsement, or reinstatement applications if the nurse has been out of practice for greater than five (5) years. The RN shall complete a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours of accepted continuing education earned in the previous 2-year period immediately prior to such application toward satisfying the requirement.
Missouri: CEs Not required
Montana: Appears to accept BRN based on the following
The Board does NOT approve individual courses or providers.
You can find this on the Board website: nurse.mt.gov under the Regulations tab – then administrative rules – Subchapter 21 Renewals and Continuing Education: To qualify as contact hours, continuing education courses must be approved by an accrediting organization or provided by an academic institution of higher learning, a continuing education provider, or an APRN certifying body.
Nebraska: cannot find, but likely yes
Nevada: No information
New Hampshire: A provider of continuing education that is recognized by another board of nursing; or New Hampshire: 30 contact hours in 2 years immediately preceding license application including workshops, conferences, lectures or other education offerings designed to enhance nursing knowledge, judgment, and skills
New Jersey: Approved. https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-37-Subchapter-5.3-Nursing-Continuing-Education-Regulations.pdf
New Mexico: No information available
New York: Does not require CE’s aside from maintaining an NP license.
APRNs, including Nurse Practitioners (NPs), must complete CE credits as part of their certification maintenance requirements, which vary based on the certifying board (e.g., ANCC or AANP). However, New York does not mandate specific CE hours for APRN license renewal unless tied to maintaining their certification.
North Carolina: Unclear whether the following requirements include BRN approved providers
National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)www.ncsbn.org
North Dakota: Appears to accept BRN based on the following
The NDBON accepts, at face value, the number of hours awarded for an educational activity that has been approved for CE. The CE must be approved by one of the following:
Ohio: Does not appear to accept BRN approved providers
Oklahoma: Language is vague, but appears to accept BRN approved providers
Contact hours obtained through an accredited approver of continuing
education or an approved nursing education program in the State of
Oklahoma.
1. In accordance with the Rules of the Oklahoma Board of Nursing
[OAC §485:10-1-2], one (1) contact hour is defined as 50 minutes.
Oregon: only required 6 CE at initial licensure- doesn’t seem to specify approved providers when reading the whole state policy
Pennsylvania: Approved
Rhode Island: Tentatively yes
Continuing education courses must be approved by the Rhode Island Board of Registration and Nursing Education. Approved training includes: courses approved by the American Nurses Credentialing Center or its local chapter, other recognized professional nursing organizations, any department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing; or such other professional, labor organization, or accrediting agency approved by the Board. At renewal, nurses must sign a statement attesting to completion of the continuing education requirements.
South Carolina: Information not available
South Dakota: Information not available
Tennessee: Information not available
Texas: Accepts Other State Boards of Nursing
Utah: Approved, the board links this website on their website: https://www.icrsncsbn.org/
Vermont: Probably NO
Please refer to the statutes and rules for the number of hours required for your credential. “Qualifying continuing education” means continuing education that has been approved
and assigned a credit value by an organization approved by the American Nurses
Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation
Virginia: Does not appear to accept BRN
B. To meet requirements of subdivision A 8 or A 9 of this section, workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses shall be offered by a provider recognized or approved by one of the following:
1. American Nurses Credentialing Center American Nurses Association;
2. National Council of State Boards of Nursing;
Washington: The laws and rules do not require any continuing education hours to have formal continuing education units (CEUs) or continuing nursing education (CNE). The Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission calculates by hours, not by CEU credits.
Methods of meeting continuing education and practice hour requirements:
Any type of continuing education that is related to the practice of nursing. Training by an
employer/institution, self-study training, or accredited courses may be counted.
West Virginia: Information not clear
Registered nurses are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education during each 2 (two) year license renewal cycle from an approved CE provider. RN license renewal occurs every other year in even years.
Wisconsin: Approved. RN does not require CEs to recertify
Wyoming: Approved. State does not require any CE’s for RN to recertify, only required when you haven’t been working and there are no stipulations as to who can administer the CE’s
There are two ways to become an NP- (two regulating bodies)
AANP: Accepts CA BRN credits
American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC): unclear if they accept CA-BRN towards registering NP license